Guest Comments and Reviews

This was a lovely little guest house overlooking the bay with a perfect view of Canadian [Olympic] mountains framed perfectly for us. It had everything we needed, was only 15 minutes or so from Friday Harbor, but it felt worlds away. Beautiful, quiet, furnished with all we needed. Balancing our time between relaxing here in the quiet of this place and exploring Friday Harbor was a perfect trip. This was Spring Break for both my daughter and me, so after a very busy schedule, coming here was lovely. This is a lovely little home. The kitchen is stocked with all the utensils, bedroom cozy and comfortable, very nice bathroom with tub/shower and the deck outside looks out into the water and the mountains in the back. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this little guest house to future guests.

The property was perfect for our weekend getaway! We loved the view and seclusion. We were able to relax and unwind 🙂 The weather was absolutely perfect with clear skies and an incredible view of the mountain range across the water! The place is small and cozy, but a newer build. The bed was extremely comfortable. We really appreciate Jack coming over and cleaning up the BBQ since most people probably don’t use during this time of the year. All in all this was a great place to stay and we would definitely come back in the future if we stay on the island.

John C., Mar 18, 2018

 

Wonderful! Serene. Great views. Quality linens. Plenty of necessities. Private. Cozy. Welcoming. We will definitely be back. Hopefully soon!

Martha, February 2018 AIRBnB

 

Quaint, new, clean and highest quality linens, sheets and amenities.
All you need is to show up. Wonderful house. Beautiful views, high quality build. No cheap corners taken and place is immaculate. Loved the window coverings for privacy, and such a peaceful stay to unwind from the business of life.

Brian B., Jan 18, 2018 VRBO

 

The location is amazing.
On a clear day, you can see the Cascade [Olympic] mountains across the sound. The home is very charming, very new and modern. It’s a perfect retreat to experience the beauty of the island.

Alexandra, Dec 2017 – AIRBnB

 

Last-minute anniversary trip
Stephanie embodies all the qualities of a Superhost-Extraordinair. The guest house was sparkling clean, well-designed, down to the tinted blue light bulb in the bedroom and heated blanket, and centrally located to all the San Juan Islands have to offer. Communication was easy and quick, expectations clear and wireless fast. Views breath taking. Over all experience was exceptional, and the perfect way to enter the new year. Thank you Stephanie, you made our last-minute anniversary trip less stressful and more memorable.

Mellisa, Dec, 2017, AIRBnB

 

COMMENTS BELOW WERE FOR THE TWO BEDROOM HOUSE


 

AIR BNB feedback
Stephanie – We all thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home and breath taking views. San Juan Island was such a quaint and gorgeous community and your home was the cherry on top! One of our best vacations yet!

Kelly Date of Stay: 22 Aug 2017 Source AIRBnB

 

Beautiful home with an unbelievable view
Our time was too short, we loved this home, the view and the island. It is a magical place.

William C., Date of Stay: Aug 9, 2017 Source – VRBO

 

Amazing house with incredible views
Beautiful house on the west coast of the island. The views from the deck were stunning and we would sit on the deck for hours watching the strait. The house had everything you need, just bring yourself and leave you worries back on the mainland.

David P., Oct 21, 2017 Source – VRBO

 

Ahhhh!
This is our third stay at Haro Haiku. So basically that should be sufficient enough a recommendation. The house is amazing and comfortable. The owners constantly upgrade furnishings and recently added the guest-house. The kitchen is open and inviting and well stocked with cookware, utensils, basics and dishes.

The view of the sound is spectacular and the entire west side of the house are windows framing the view. The house sits high on the hill looking down and across to Canada. We saw all three Orca pods almost daily. Other wildlife included the resident deer and foxes.

Stephanie and Jack are lovely to work with and fantastic property owners. Truly, I hesitate to leave such a glowing review because it makes it more difficult to book our favorite place on San Juan Island.

Here’s to you Steph and Jack. Thanks for being so great and caring.

Stayed: September 2016 Submitted: October 2, 2016 Source: VRBO

 

Magical!
After 18 years together we finally tied the knot, and we chose the Haro Haiku for our honeymoon getaway. We could not have been more pleased and feel that 5 stars may not be quite enough to express how much we loved this property! After a year of planning and executing a large and elaborate wedding we needed to recharge our batteries and recenter ourselves. This location was exactly what we needed! The home is beautiful and peaceful and the location is magical. After a meandering drive off the main coastal road you reach the driveway that winds down to the house which is tucked away from the world in the heart of the west coast of the island. We spent our mornings sipping coffee listening to and watching the birds, and then twice we were able to listen to and watch the whales from the deck for hours at a time. Yep, just sitting in comfy chairs in our PJs watching whales in their natural habitat without disturbing or disrupting them. We were also able to watch whales at the Wildlife Preserve just up the coast. We ate breakfast at the table on the deck, and had glorious seafood feasts at the bar in the kitchen. We spent the majority of our days beach combing, visiting lighthouses, watching wildlife around the island and going on excursions. We gratefully returned to the Haro Haiku each night feeling lucky to have such a beautiful place to call home during our visit. In the evenings we played games found in the entry closet at the dining room table with a view of the night time ocean, and woke up each morning to the peaceful view of the Olympic mountains and Haro straight. The beds are fantastic, and I may be buying a new mattress after sleeping on the Tuft & Needle in the master bedroom! Before making the reservation I had hesitations about the property owner being on site, but it was a complete non-issue. I met Stephanie one morning at her residence and she was delightful. She and her husband are nearby if you need them, but while at the property you do not feel as though you are being supervised in any way. I can not wait to return to this property to enjoy the island again with my family. My husband wrote a haiku in honor of our stay… The serenity Days and nights filled with beauty Our souls have been cleansed

Stayed: September 2016 Submitted: September 13, 2016 Source: VRBO

 

Simply beautiful!
We stayed at HARO HAIKU for 7 nights…my only complaint is that I wish we could have stayed longer. The home is absolutely wonderful! I always get a bit nervous when a property has a perfect 5 star score with not even a negative comment. After our stay I have to agree with all of the other reviewers. Not only do I give 5 stars to the house, but 5 stars for the view, 5 stars for the location and 5 stars to San Juan Island! Stephanie and Jack are superb hosts, their years of experience in the hospitality industry shine. Final note: Almost daily we saw Orcas from the deck. One day we even saw a couple of Humpback Whales swim by. For up close views from shore be sure to drive to Lime Kiln park or the pull offs along the way.

Ned G.-Stayed: August 2016 Submitted: August 30, 2016 Source: VRBO

 

Very satisfied guest.
We recently stayed at this gorgeous property for 5 nights. The home is beautiful and in excellent condition. Walking inside you see you have a wide view of the bay from the entire west side of the house. Walking outside to the surrounding deck you can see Hurricane Ridge in Olympic National Forest to the left and Victoria, Canada to the right. The kitchen is filled with everything you would need to cook gourmet meals (except the food). The markets on the island are wonderful and the owner directed us to a fresh seafood market and the delicious Bakery (San Juan Bakery). The master bedroom and bath make you feel like you are staying at a spa. You look out onto the bay from the comfy king bed. All the bedding is high quality. We loved sitting on the deck sipping wine, watching the Orcas swim by and did I say Watching the Orcas swim by. The humming birds flitted around and a couple of deer grazed nearby. This home stay felt like we were in paradise. YES we would stay here again. It was hard to leave this lovely place.

Bruce & Sharyn B. – Stayed: June 2016 Submitted: August 16, 2016 Source: VRBO